Thursday, May 19, 2022

43 new ministers take oath: Prasad, Dr Vardhan, Javadekar exit the cabinet

Those being sidelined made bigger news than those who were inducted in the Modi cabinet’s reshuffle here this evening. 

Some of the biggest names in recent years—IT and Law minister Ravi Shankar Prasad; health minister Harsh Vardhan and environment minister Prakash Javadekar—took a bow. 

In all 43 new ministers took the oath in which 36 were new faces and seven got promotions. 

No less than 20 per cent ministers—a fifth of the council of ministers—were dropped though it’s believed that the Big Four—Union ministers for home, defence, foreign affairs and finance—would remain unchanged. 

The following are the new ministers who are minister from today onwards, the portfolios to be announced in due course. 

1. Narayan Rane

2. Sarbananda Sonowal

3. Dr. Virendra Kumar

4. Jyotiraditya M Scindia

5. Ramchandra Prasad Singh

6. Ashwini Vaishnaw

7. Pashupati Paras

8. Kiren Rijiju

9. Raj Kumar Singh

10.Hardeep Singh Puri

11.Mansukh Mandaviya

12.Bhupender Yadav

13.Parshottam Rupala

14.G. Kishan Reddy

15.Anurag Singh Thakur

16.Pankaj Choudhary

17. Anupriya Singh Patel

18.Dr. Satya Pal Singh Baghel

19. Rajeev Chandrasekhar

20.Shobha Karandlaje

21.Bhanu Pratap Singh Verma

22. Darshana Vikram Jardosh

23. Meenakshi Lekhi

24. Annapurna Devi

25.A. Narayanaswamy

26.Kaushal Kishore

27.Ajay Bhatt

28.B. L. Verma

29.Ajay Kumar

30.Chauhan Devusinh

31.Bhagwanth Khuba

32.Kapil Moreshwar Patil

33.Pratima Bhoumik

34.Dr. Subhas Sarkar

35.Dr. Bhagwat Kishanrao Karad

36.Dr. Rajkumar Ranjan Singh

37.Dr. Bharati Pravin Pawar

38.Bishweswar Tudu

39.Shantanu Thakur

40.Dr. Munjapara Mahendrabhai

41.John Barla

42.Dr. L. Murugan

43.Nisith Pramanik

Some of the youngest new ministers and a little bio on them—their age in bracket—is as below:

1. Nisith Pramanik (35)

The youngest in the new Modi government cabinet is the 35-year-old Pramanik who is a Lok Sabha MP for Cooch Behar in West Bengal. A BCA degree holder, Pramanik has also worked as an Assistant Teacher in a primary school. 

2. Shantanu Thakur (38)

Shantanu Thakur is also a Lok Sabha MP from Bongaon in West Bengal and is serving his first term as an MP. He is a BA degree holder and also has a diploma in hospitality management.

3. Anupriya Singh Patel (40)

Singh is a Lok Sabha MP from Mirzapur in Uttar Pradesh and has previously served as the Minister of State for Health under Prime Minister Narendra Modi. She has also served as an MLA before. 

4. Dr. Bharati Pravin Pawar (42)

Dr Pawar is a Lok Sabha MP for Dindori in Maharashtra and is serving her first term as an MP. She has served as a Member of Nashik Zila Parishad and has also worked for the eradication of malnutrition and providing clean drinking water. She was a medical practitioners before joining public life.

5. Dr. L. Murugan (44)

Dr. Murugan served as a lawyer at the Madras High Court for 15 years before joining public life. He was also the Vice-Chairman of the National Commission of Scheduled Castes from 2017 to 2020.

6. John Barla (45)

Barla is a Lok Sabha MP for Alipurduars in West Bengal and is serving his first term as an MP. He has worked for the rights i tea garden workers and had himself started as a tea garden worker at the age of 14.

Read More

Delhi Lt Gov Anil Baijal has resigned, say sources

Delhi Lieutenant Governor Anil Baijal has submitted his resignation to President Ram Nath Kovind citing "personal reasons", sources told NDTV on Wednesday. A retired civil...
Support Us
Contribute to see NewsBred grow. And rejoice that your input has made it possible.