Saturday, December 9, 2023

BJP claims 329 of 334 seats in Tripura; sweeps floor off Trinamool and Congress

file photo

It’s as stunning as it comes. After a bitter feud with Trinamool Congress, the BJP swept the civil polls in Tripura in a staggering manner: pocketing 329 of 334 seats in elections which were held on Thursday. 

Altogether, counting took place in 334 seats, including 222 seats of Agartala Municipal Corporation (AMC) and 13 municipal bodies, 51 wards in AMC, 12 municipal councils and six nagar panchayats.

The Opposition were shred to pieces: The CPM won three seats and Trinamool Congress no better than a local outfit, Tipra Motha with a seat each. Congress fails to open account. 

The incoming details underline the extent of BJP’s domination: The Agartala Municipal Corporation, for instance, is left with no opposition as BJP has swept the floor with all 51 wards going to them.

The only solace for Trinamool Congress came in Ambasa. Tipra Motha, a regional party, got a seat from the same area. 

The lead-up to elections were violent with series of incidents. Trinamool Congress was desperate to gain a foothold in the state ahead of the 2023 assembly elections. 

Thousands of personnel from the Tripura State Rifles and central parliamentary forces were posted in sensitive areas. 

This is the first civic elections BJP has contested after coming to power in Tripura in 2018. 

Trinamool Congress and CPM were painted by media as the main opposition parties. 

A peeved Trinamool Congress has alleged that the elections were rigged and reduced to a farce. CPM has made a similar accusation, claiming the elections in five wards of AMC be declared invalid. 

The break-up of results: 

  • Dharamnagar (24 seats): All won by BJP
  • Panisagar (13 seats): 12 BJP, 1 CPI (M)
  • Kailashahar (17 seats): 16 BJP, 1 CPI (M)
  • Kumarghat (15 seats): All won by BJP
  • Ambassa (15 seats): 12 BJP, 1 TMC, 1 CPI(M), 1 by independent
  • Khowai (8 seats): All won by BJP
  • Teliamura (15 seats): All won by BJP
  • Jinaria (1 seat): Won by BJP
  • Mehaghar (11 seats): All won by BJP
  • Sonamura (13 seats): All won by BJP
  • Amarpur (13 seats): All won by BJP
  • Sabroom (9 seats): All won by BJP
  • Belonia (17 seats): All won by BJP
  • AMC (51 seats): All won by BJP

Below seats were won by BJP uncontested. 

  • Udaipur- 15 seats
  • Shantibazar- 15 seats
  • Mohanpur- 15 seats
  • Ranirbazar- 13 seats
  • Kamalpur- 11 seats
  • Bishalgarh- 15 seats

Taking to the micro-blogging site, BJP Tripura tweeted “Congratulations to all our elected B.J.P candidates and Karyakartas for their untiring supports and above all the people of Tripura thanks for reposing faith on BJP.”

Reacting to party’s impressive performance, BJP vice president Dilip Ghosh said that the results of Tripura Municipal polls expose the “hollowness” of TMC’s claims of having made inroads in the northeastern state. He said that people there have faith in Bharatiya Janata Party.

“This verdict shows hired people from West Bengal cannot help a party create a base in a state, which has faith in the BJP,” Ghosh said.

Read More

Apps using AI to undress women in photos now popular

Apps and websites that use artificial intelligence to undress women in photos are soaring in popularity, according to researchers. In September alone, 24 million people...
Support Us
Contribute to see NewsBred grow. And rejoice that your input has made it possible.