Monday, May 27, 2024

BJP launches Bihar campaign: ‘Lalu now in league with Congress, enemy of JP’

Jayprakash Narayan who fought Congress all his life. Now his “disciple” Lalu Yadav, RJD supremo, are embracing him. That’s how Bharatiya Janata Party chief JP Nadda lashed out as the party kicked of its rally ahead of the Bihar Polls, scheduled on October 28, November 3 and 7 with the results due on November 10.

“There are those who became politicians because of Jayprakash Narayan, three-time chief minister. They have compromised Jayprakash Narayan—who opposed the Congress and made Janata Party. Those who were JP’s disciplines have now embraced Congress,” said Nadda.

Incidentally, today is the birth anniversary of Jayprakash Narayan.

Added Nadda: “JP was tortured a lot during the imposed emergency of the Congress, but he did not turn from the path of truth. He worked to shake the foundation of Congress’ corruption, nepotism and unemployment”.

Lalu Yadav would remain in jail even though he has been granted bail in a fodder scam, related to Chaibasa treasury by Jharkhand High Court on Friday. But he would still be in cell as he is serving time in another case related to Dumka treasury.

Lalu Yadav first came to limelight as the Student Union president of the Patna University who had joined the JP movement in 1974, winning the 1977 Lok Sabha elections from Chapra at the age of 29. He was subsequently jailed for 19 months during the Emergency which threw up Bihar-based leaders like Nitish Kumar, Sushil Modi, Shivanand Tiwari and Lalu himself. All shared the same set of principle as their mentor JP.

Lalu Yadav had quit Janata Party and founded RJD in 1980.

The NDA has reaffirmed its faith in Nitish Kumar and has released seat-sharing deal with JD (U). BJP would keep 121 seats out of which 11 seats would go to Mukesh Sahni-led Vikasheel Insaan Party. JDU (U) would field in 115 constitutencies whereas Hindustani Awam Morcha has been accommodated with seven seats.  LJP headed by Chirag Paswan now that his father Ram Vilas Paswan is no more, would not field any candidate against the BJP and is open to a post-poll coalition.

Similarly Mahagathbandhan has agreed to a 144-70 seat-sahre formula with Congress and three other Communist parties, contesting 29 seats. The NDA and Mahagathbandhan face three coalitions: Progrerssive Democratic Alliance (PDA) comprising of JAP, AJP, SDP, BMP, and Grand Democratic Secular Front, made up of AIMIM, RLSP, BSP, SJDD and SBSP. The third of course is NDA vs Mahagathbandhan.

Read More

Hamas launches “big missile attack” on Tel Aviv

Hamas armed wing al-Qassam Brigades said it launched a "big missile" attack on Tel Aviv on Sunday as the Israeli military sounded sirens in...