Wednesday, April 17, 2024

BJP spectacular in Uttar Pradesh; looks set to bag 4 out of 5 States

The early trends by 12 noon today showed Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) being re-elected from four of the five assembly polls recently held: Uttar Pradesh, Goa, Manipur and Uttarakhand. 

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) is set to return to power in Uttar Pradesh as the party has crossed the halfway mark in early rounds of counting. It will be for the first time since 1985 that a ruling party will be returning to power in the state.

The Yogi-Adityanath led campaign in BJP is showing massive results as the party was ahead in 268 of the 403-seat assembly. In 2017, it had bagged 303 on its own and could well eclipse that figure this time around. 

Samajwadi Party, the main opposition, was leading in 124 seats. Congress was nowhere leading in only 3 seats. Bahujan Samaj Party was only marginally ahead at 4 seats. 

According to the Election Commission data, after seven rounds of counting, Samajwadi Party (SP) chief Akhilesh Yadav is leading in his constituency, Karhal, and BJP’s SP Singh Baghel is second. Meanwhile, Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath has maintained a comfortable lead of over 12,000 votes.

OBC face Swami Prasad Maurya, who was the first BJP MLA to leave the party and join SP ahead of polls, is trailing by over 11,000 votes in Fazilnagar.

In Lakhimpur Kheri, where farmers were allegedly run over by Union MoS Ajay Mishra Teni’s son Ashish Mishra, the BJP is leading on seven seats out of the eight in the district, while the Samajwadi Party is ahead on one seat.

Jailed Samajwadi Party (SP) leader Azam Khan was ahead with a sizeable margin in the Rampur constituency of the state.

In Suar, Azam’s son Abdullah Azam Khan was leading with 9,367 votes, while BJP ally Apna Dal’s Haidar Ali Khan Alias Hamza Mian followed with 7,598 votes.

In Mau constituency, mafia-turned-politician Mukhtar Ansari’s son Abbas Ansari, who contested on Suheldev Bharatiya Samaj Party’s (SBSP’s) symbol was trailing with 6,585 votes, while BJP’s Ashok Kumar Singh’s was leading with 7,591 votes.

In Mohammadabad, Mukhtar Ansari’s nephew and former MLA Sibagtulla Ansari’s son Suhaib alias Mannu Ansari, who contested on SP’s symbol, was leading with 6,211 votes, while BJP’s sitting MLA Alka Rai in second place with 4,241 votes. 


The border state is witnessing almost a clean sweep by Arvind Kejriwal’s Aam Aadmi Party as it is leading in most seats in the 117-seat assembly. 

It’s chief ministerial candidate Bhagwant Mann was leading while the sitting chief minister Charanjit Singh Channi was trailing in both the seats he is contesting. 

Other senior Congress leaders like Navjot Singh Sidhu and speaker Rana Kanwarpal Singh were trailing too in their respective constituencies. 

Earlier trend indicated AAP was leading in 70 seats; Congress was hovering in 18 seats. Akalis (6) and BJP (1) were nowhere in fray. 


The Bharatiya Janta Party was leading in 42 seats in Uttarakhand in the 70-seat assembly. Congress was trailing in 39 seats. If the trend continues, BJP looks an easy winner in this hilly state. 

It’s a great winning for the ruling party in the state as it has successfully tackled the anti-incumbency factor. No party has been reelected in this state since 200. 

BJP’sa stress on issues of national interest, national security, army welfare and religious tourism seemed to have worked wonders. 

In 2017, riding the Modi wave, the BJP had managed to win 57 out of the total 70 seats. Congress had won just 11 seats. 


In Manipur, BJP had taken a massive lead over Congress and was leading in 30 seats. Congress was trailing way behind, leading in only 9 seats. 

The state assembly has 60 seats. 

This time the BJP decided to go solo and contested all 60 seats alone. On the other hand, Congress formed an alliance of six political parties, including Congress, CPI, CPI(M), Forward Bloc, Revolutionary Socialist Party (RSP), and Janata Dal (Secular).


This state also seems to be bringing happy tidings for BJP who were leading in 19 seats in the 40-seat assembly. It’s a multi-cornered contest with BJP, AAP, Congress and TMC all in fray. 

In 2017, the Congress had emerged as the single largest party, winning 17 seats but the BJP, which won 13 seats, managed to form the government with the support of the Goa Forward Party and the MGP which had won three seats each, and two independents.

Read More

Ukraine is struggling in Donbass: Zelensky

Ukrainian President Vladimir Zelensky has admitted that the situation on the front line in the conflict with Russia is deteriorating, blaming the West for...
Support Us
Contribute to see NewsBred grow. And rejoice that your input has made it possible.