Sunday, May 19, 2024

Farmers’ bills passed amidst ugly scenes; Derek O’ Brien tears up rules book

Farm Bills—Farmers’ and Produce Trade and Commerce Promotion and Facilitation Bill 2020 and Farmers (Empowerment and Protection) Agreement on Price Assurance and Farm Services Bill was passed by the Rajya Sabha via voice vote today.

But it didn’t go without chaos as 12 opposition parties created ruckus. Trinamool Congress MP Derek O’Brien marched up to the well of the house and tore the rule book and ripped the mic off the house Chair.

Similalry, AAP MP Sanjay Singh and Rajeev Satav stormed the well and stood on the table in front of the Chair, raising slogans against the Bills.

The Rajya Sabha TV feed was temporarily cut off amidst the chaos.

However, Congress MPs were outraged when YSRCP MP VV Reddy backed the bill and said there was no reason for Congress to oppose the bills. He further enraged them by saying Congress is a party of Dalals (Middlemen).

Several MPs moved resolutions for sending the two bills to a select committee of the House for consideration before they are taken up for passage but were rejected.

The trouble began as the Deputy Chairman said the opposition resolution was negated and moved to pass the bills by voice vote. The opposition demanded a physical voting.

“Mahabharat has broken out inside parliament,” Congress’ Ghulam Nabi Azad said.

The house was adjourned for 10 minutes and after it resumed, the voice vote took place.

Read More