Monday, May 27, 2024

Heavyweights in fray in final phase of Bihar Elections 2020 today

No less than eight minister of the Janata Dal (U) are in the fray in the third and final phase of Bihar elections which presently are underway on Saturday.

Bijendra Prasad Yadav (Supaul), Narendra Narayan Yadav (Alamnagar), Maheshwar Hazari (Kalyanpur), Ramesh Rishideo (Singheshwar), Khurshid alias Firoz Ahmed (Sikta), Lakshmeshwar Roy (Laukaha), Bima Bharti (Rupauli) and Madan Sahni (Bahadurpur) are in the fray.

In all the day’s election would settle 78 seats in 19 districts of the Bihar in the 243-member assembly.

Many candidates of LJP, headed by Ram Vilas Paswan’s son Chirag Paswan, are contesting today.  So are Asaduddin Owaisi’s AIMIM candidates. Congress has fielded Subhashini Yadav, daughter of former Union minister Sharad Yadav, from Bihariganj.

Just to recap, there are three major alliances fighting for crown in this Bihar elections.

The top one of course is NDA which has JD (U) and BJP as its main component. The second one is Mahagathbandhan which comprises of RJD, Congress and Left parties among others; the third is Grand Secular Democratic Front (GSDP) which has AIMIM, Rashstriya Lok Samata Party (RLSP) and Jan Adhikar Party (JAP) mainly.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi has held 12 rallies in the region.

Read More

Hamas launches “big missile attack” on Tel Aviv

Hamas armed wing al-Qassam Brigades said it launched a "big missile" attack on Tel Aviv on Sunday as the Israeli military sounded sirens in...