Sunday, May 19, 2024

Opposition boycott Parliament; demand suspension of MPs be revoked

First they did it to Rajya Sabha. Now they have done it in Lok Sabha. The opposition has boycotted the Parliament in protest over the farm bills.  

Congress leader Ghulam Nabi Azad made the declaration today in the Upper House, stating that till their three key demands are met and the suspension of eight MPs is revoked.

Meanwhile, the suspended members continued their sit-in on the lawns of the parliament complex till about 11.30 a.m.

The Congress was the first to leave the Upper House, followed by the AAP, Trinamool Congress and the Left. The same was the story in the Lower house, followed by the BSP and the TRS.

However, Naveen Patnaik’s BJP was not part of the opposition boycott.

Nevertheless, the third farm bill was passed in the Rajya Sabha. Harivansh Narayan Singh chaired the house.

The first demand of the opposition is that government bring a bill which ensures private players don’t procure foodgrains below a MSP fixed by the government. The second is that MSP be based on the recommendations of the MS Swaminathan committee report. Third, the opposition demanded the government, or the Food Corporation of India, ensure the crops are procured from farmers at the fixed MSP.

Meanwhile Union minister Ravi Shankar Prasad told reporters that suspension of MPs could only be revoked after they apologize for their behaviour in the Rajya Sabha on Sunday. Thawar Chand Gehlot, leader of the House in the Rajya Sabha, made the same point. 


Read More